Area briefs

Ohio FFA state officer visits

CASSTOWN — Ohio FFA State Vice President Meredith Oglesby recently came to visit the members of the Miami East-MVCTC FFA Chapter. She spent the day in the two Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources classes sharing with them about ways of communication and how to use them effectively.

Oglesby is a graduate of Hillsboro High School and is serving as the State FFA vice president. She is a freshman at The Ohio State University majoring in Agricultural Communications. Her duties require her to travel throughout the state conducting chapter visits, presenting speeches on behalf of Ohio’s FFA members, and facilitating conferences and conventions.

Grant deadline approaching

TROY — The deadline to submit a quarterly grant request is Wednesday, Feb. 15 by 4 p.m. for the upcoming meeting in March.

Grants are available to organizations with a 501(c)3 that benefit citizens of the Troy City School District. Applications and guidelines are available on the organization’s website or for more information call (937) 339-8935.

UVCC names students of month

Upper Valley Career Center Student Services Director, Matt Meyer, released the names of Students of the Month for January 2017.

According to Meyer, students from each program are named for the honor recognizing extra effort and to encourage development of leadership, scholarship, citizenship and community service abilities throughout the year. The recipients for January are:

Bradford: Brandon Deemer, Cosmetology II; Bryant Lear, Computer Information Technologies II;

Covington: Bradley Brown, Automotive Collision Repair Technologies I; Brittany Daniel, Environmental Occupations I; Waunetta Thompson, Early Childhood Education and Care II;

Miami East: Kate Christensen, Medical Technologies I; Taylor Frawley, Environmental Occupations I;

Newton: Emily Diehl, Interactive Media II;

Piqua: Tiffany Bradley, Early Childhood Education & Care I; Dillon Fyffe, Environmental Occupations II;

Troy: Andieleigh Emerick, Cosmetology I; Bryson Holter, Automotive Services I; Noah Krill, Computer Information Technologies I; Keaton Pfeiffer, Pre-Engineering and Design Technologies II.