Area briefs




FFA members of month named

CASSTOWN — The November 2016 Miami East—MVCTC FFA Members of the Month are Kylie Blair and Jessica Gillum. Both are sophomores and second years members of the Miami East—MVCTC FFA Chapter.

Blair is the daughter of Sonya Foster and Marty Blair. Gillum is the daughter of Kevin Gillum and Julie Kreiger.

At the 2016 National FFA Convention, both participated in the National Agriscience Fair with their Environmental Sciences/Natural Resources Systems project entitled, “Does Clean Water Mean Clean Soil? A Comparative Study of Townships In Miami County, Ohio.” The team qualified for the national competition after placing first in the state competition in May 2017. The team placed sixth in the nation and earned a gold rating.

Every month of the school year the Miami East—MVCTC FFA will select a student to be the FFA Member of the Month. The officer team will nominate one student that has been actively involved in the FFA chapter, school and community activities. If selected, the member will be recognized at the monthly FFA meeting, have their picture displayed in the Miami East Ag Room, and will receive a special accolade in celebration of their accomplishment.

Card club winners announced

MIAMI COUNTY — TWIG 4 Card Club Marathon bridge winners for September include:

Group 1:

First — Laury Braby and Suzanne Scranton

Second — Mickey Fletcher and Barbara Wilson

Third — Ruth Treon and Sandy Haack

Group 2:

First — Dick and Sandy Adams

Second — Terry and Louretta Gaston

Third — Jack and Mary Jo Berry

Group 3:

First — Mary Jo Berry and Sue Gagnon

Second — Sandy Haack and Sandy Pahl

Third — Sandy Adams and Marty Timko

Group 4:

First — Beth Earhart

Second — Kathy Jent

Third — Laury Braby

Group 5:

First — Alice Schlemmer and Marge Burk

Second — Alice Schlemmer and Marge Burk

Third — Mable Leytze

Group 8:

First — Nancy Nims

Second — Julia Routson

Third — Beth Earhart

Group 9:

First — Evelyn Madigan and Mickey Fletcher

Second — Jan Wise and Lynne Fobian

Third —

Group 10:

First — Cindy Wingert

Second — Kathy Jent

Third — Sandy Haack