Siefring, Snipes honored by MAC; Lehman cheer, GLU tryouts; Waynesfield race results

Tara Snipes

Tara Snipes

Jackie Siefring

AKRON — It has already been a big spring track season for former Covington state champion Jackie Siefring who is a member of the Akron Zips women’s track and field team.

Siefring was recently named MAC women’s track and field athlete of the week after a career best performance at the Mt. Sac Relays/California Invitational Combined Events.

Seifring had her best ever score in the heptathlon, recording a score of 5,750 for the seven-event competition.

Siefring finished third in the event and recorded the second best score in program history.

The score positions her for a return to the NCAA nationals this season. It gives her the fifth best score nationally and second best score in the NCAA East Region.

Siefring followed that up by teaming with three teammates for a record performance in the 1,600 relay at the LSU Alumni Invitational Saturday.

Daziah Green, Siefring, Dimitra Gnafaki and Kiara Chatman were clocked in a school-record time of 3:39.34.

In addition to that, Siefring and former Covington standout Tara Snipes were both honored recently by the MAC.

They were both named Women’s Track & Field Distinguished Scholar Athletes.

Snipes, a senior, has a 3.896 GPA and is majoring in information systems management; while Siefring has a 3.623 GPA and is majoring in biomedical engineering.

Lehman holding

cheer tryouts

Any girl interested in cheering at Lehman Catholic HS for next year’s football and/or basketball season(s) must attend the upcoming instructional clinics and tryouts.

Clinics will be conducted in Lehman’s Schlater Gymnasium at 3:30-4:45 on the following dates:

Monday May 1, Wednesday May 3, and Tuesday May 9.

Tryouts are scheduled on Friday, May 12 at 4:00. All information and requirements will be distributed and discussed at the first clinic on Monday, May 1.

Parents are invited to attend this meeting beginning at 4:30 p.m.

Please contact Melissa Safreed at with questions.

Shady Bowl


DEGRAFF — Shady Bowl Speedway cancelled its Saturday night racing, as wet grounds and cold temperatures forced promoter Rick Young to cancel.

This Saturday is a fun night for fans as admission price will be $20 per car load. The offer is good for grandstand seating only.

The 2017 points chase will also start with the late models, modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks, compacts, and super compacts in action. In addition to these classes the spectator drag cars will return. This class will also have a unique point system as they will be running under a chase like format. The winner will receive a race ready complete compact division car. In addition all driver safety items will be part of the winnings.

Quick Parts, CS&SS LLC and Hanger 18 Race Cars will sponsor the event.

Racing is set to start at 7.

Waynesfield opens

new season of racing

WAYNESFIELD — Waynesfield Raceway Park in Waynesfield, Ohio celebrated 15 years of racing Saturday night as the green flag opened a new season. The track, which sits in the cornfields of Waynesfield, Ohio, welcomed fans with an impressive car count and some of the best dirt racing in the Midwest.

The Quest Federal Credit Union Non Wing sprint cars started a field of 20 for 25 laps of racing. Despite heavy lap traffic on the final laps, Kody Swanson came away with the 3.8 second victory. Dallas Hewitt finished in second with Landon Simon finishing in third.

The A-main went caution free completing in just under six and a half minutes. Drew Rader, Landon Simon, and Dallas Hewitt picked up the heat wins. Todd Keen picked up the B-main victory.

The Performance Powder Coating AMSA Mini Sprints started 19 in the A-main.

In the end, Ty Tilton came away with the victory. Rod Henning finished in second with Kobe Allison finishing in third. The same three drivers picked up the heat race victories.

The Satellite Connections UMP Modifieds had a strong field of 20 cars make the call for the A-main. As the cross flags were displayed, Randy Line’s 1.3 second lead began to diminish. Josh Scott never found the momentum to overtake Lines giving him the checkered flag. Erny Gingerich, who started on inside of row 5, took home second on a late race pass. Scott came home in third. Randy Lines, Josh Scott, Bill Keeler, and Scott Gerdeman picked up the heat race wins. Tim Meine and Terry Hull picked up the B-mains.

The Block Insurance Tough Trucks took the track for their 15 lap feature.

Once the dust settled, Chris Hicks picked up the win. Ben Hower finished in second with Roy Miller finishing in third. Roy Miller and Chris Hicks also picked up the heat race victories.

The Indian Lake Outfitter Compacts had a strong field of cars despite the number of events happening in the racing community. Dalton Smith got the win. Smith started dead last in the A-main lineup. Nick Glasgow finished in second with Brandon McDavies finishing in a close third. Nick Glasgow, Ryan O’Kuley, and Justin Durflinger picked up the heat race victories.

Racing returns to Waynesfield Raceway Park Saturday with a full program of racing. Gates will open at 4 p.m. for this event with racing action following at 7 p.m.

GLU holding

soccer tryouts

Tryouts for Grand Lake United soccer teams will be held from 6-8 p.m. on May 31 or Friday Jun2 at Deam Park in Sidney

For more info, contact Tom Wiseman at 937-726-7356 or email

Tara Snipes Snipes

Jackie Siefring Siefring