College briefs

Edison inducts honor students

PIQUA — Sixteen new members were inducted to the Edison State Community College Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) during an April 12 ceremony at the Piqua Campus. Each semester, students are invited to join the honor society based upon academic criteria.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society was established in 1918 to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming.

New inductees include Charity Barnes of Ansonia, McKenna Bollinger of Troy, Kari Clements of Troy, Matt Collett of Piqua, Michelle Collett of Piqua, Jonathon Holman of Greenville, Carrie Kautz of Greenville, Sierra Keller of Greenville, Amanda Mitchell of Sidney, Mary Mohr of Union, Jacquelynn Roediger of Sidney, Joshua Ruff of Dayton, Ayoub Samari of Sidney, Samuel Schulze of Fairborn, Penny Stallard of Tipp City, and Melissa Tucker of Troy.

Oswald inducted into Phi Kappa Phi

TOLEDO, Ohio — Brittany Oswald of Troy was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Oswald was initiated at The University of Toledo.

Oswald is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Dotson receives athletics award

NEW CONCORD, Ohio — Haley Dotson of Piqua has received Ann White Strive for Excellence Award. The awards were presented at a luncheon held April 27.

The athletic honor awards are presented to Muskingum University’s most outstanding student-athletics, recognizing their competitive successes, good sportsmanship and commitment to academics, as voted by head coaches.