FFA briefs

Students compete in contests

CASSTOWN — Recently the Miami East-MVCTC FFA Food Science and Technology Team competed in the District 5 Contests hosted by Anna High School.

In the Food Science and Technology Contest contestants included Emma Linn, Kelsey Kirchner, Zach Kronenberger, Emily Thimmes, Alyssa Westgerdes, Hunter Sharp, Katie Bodenmiller and Katie Bendickson.

Miami East students placed fourth out of 52 teams. The highest placing individuals from Miami East was Emma Linn, who third overall in the contest. There were more than 200 individuals in the contest.

During the contest the team members were asked to complete a product development scenario in which they calculated the nutritional facts for a new food product and design a new package. Also they completed an aroma identification section, took a written test, responded to mock customer complaint scenarios, identified sanitation errors in the food industry, and completed a taste sensory test and flavor identification.

FFA members fare well at event

PLEASANT HILL — Recently members of the Miami East-MVCTC FFA Chapter recently participated in the 2015 FFA Sub-District Parliamentary Procedure contest at Newton High School.

Participating was Greenhand first period were team members chair Maci Krites, vice chair Liza Bair, Kylie Blair, Keagan Carsey, Monet Desautels, Kaitlyn Hawes, Zach Kowalak, Zach Kronenberger, Lilly Schaeffer, Derek Tennant, and Alex Zapadka. They earned first place and a gold rating. They advanced to the District Parliamentary Procedures Career Development Event in December.

Participating in Greenhand fifth period – Team Blue were team members Chair Kyle Elifritz, Vice Chair Liza Bair, Jakob Brunke, Baily Buck, Jessica Copeland, Brookelyn Hermann, Devin Karnehm, Abbey Koontz, Kyle Sturgill, and Emily Swindell. They received a gold rating.

Participating in Greenhand fifth period — Team White were team members chair Lane Mergler, vice chair Dakota Bashore, Taylor Frawley, Brennon Green, Ashley Hawkins, Caleb Hayslett, Tyler Heckman, Michael Miller, Cody Niswonger, Spencer Selhorst, and Noah Shook. They received a gold rating.

The students showed their knowledge of Parliamentary Procedure by holding a mock meeting and giving quality discussion on motions. Participants were given two minutes preparation time and asked to demonstrate six parliamentary procedure abilities.

Chapter inducts new members

CASSTOWN — On Nov. 23, the Miami East-MVCTC FFA awarded 34 new members their Greenhand FFA Degree. The Greenhand Degree is awarded to first year members of the FFA, and is the first award that can be received. Each member awarded received a pin to be worn on their FFA jacket and a certificate of achievement. Aaron Klohn, State FFA Reporter of the Ohio FFA Association, was the guest speaker.

In order to receive the Greenhand FFA Degree the members must be enrolled in an agriculture class, have plans for a Supervised Agricultural Experience Program, learned and explained the FFA Creed, Motto, Salute, Mission Statement, Code of Ethics and uses of the FFA Jacket, Colors, and Emblem, and demonstrated an understanding of the FFA’s history, chapter constitution and by-laws. The Greenhand FFA Degree is the first of four degrees that an FFA member can earn.

The students earning the degree are Liza Bair, Dakota Bashore, Kylie Blair, Jakob Brunke, Bailey Buck, Keagan Carsey, Jessica Copeland, Monet Desautels, Kyle Elifritz, Taylor Frawley, Jessica Gillum, Brennon Green, Kaitlyn Hawes, Ashley Hawkins, Caleb Hayslett, Tyler Heckman, Brookelyn Hermann, Devin Karnehm, Abbey Koontz, Zach Kowalak, Maci Krites, Zach Kronenberger, Lane Mergler, Michael Miller, Cody Niswonger, Lance Rohrbach, Spencer Selhorst, Noah Shook, Kyle Sturgill, Emily Swindell, Seth Teeters, Derek Tennant, and Alex Zapadka.