Miami County GOP elects leadership



Staff reports

MIAMI COUNTY — The Miami County Republican Party recently met to hold an organizational meeting to elect officers.

John W. “Bud” O’Brien of Monroe Township was re-elected to a four year term as Executive Committee chairman of the local Republican Party for his fifth term. O’Brien was first elected in 2000 and has been unopposed for each term.

Joining O’Brien in party leadership includes returning officers Judy Weaver of Piqua as chairperson, Richard N. Adams of Concord Township as Central Committee chairman, William Wolke of Troy as Central Committee vice chairman and Marty Baker of Troy as secretary.

New officers are Frank DeBrosse of Piqua as Executive Committee vice chairman and Matt Gearhardt of Washington Township as treasurer. All officers were unopposed for their positions.

After his election, O’Brien thanked the committee for their confidence and talked about the upcoming special election on June 7 for Congress and the November county and national elections.

“The Miami County Republican Party is strong and has had many successes over the past 16 years. However, we can’t rest on our past success we must work hard for Warren Davidson’s congressional election on June 7 and again in November,” O’Brien said. “We need to ensure Rob Portman is re-elected to the U.S. Senate and Dave Duchak is elected sheriff in November.”

“Ultimately we need to elect our Republican presidential candidate who ever that ends up being. To do these things we are going to have to work harder than ever,” O’Brien said.

O’Brien concluded by saying, “We have record number of registered Republicans since the March 15th primary election. Our job is to engage those voters and ensure they stay active and interested through November and beyond.”