Miami County Board of Elections certifies votes cast in March 15 Presidential Primary

By Sam Wildow -

PIQUA — The Miami County Board of Elections certified the March 15 Presidential Primary during their meeting Wednesday afternoon.

Approximately 48.09 percent of voters in Miami County came out for the election. There are 70,506 registered voters in Miami County and of that number, 33,903 cards were cast.

On the Republican ballot, presidential candidate John R. Kasich received 41.28 percent of the vote with 11,181 votes in the Republican Delegates-at-Large category. Kasich beat Trump by 170 votes in this county in that category, as Trump received 11,011 votes or 40.65 percent. Ted Cruz was the next highest with 3,721 votes or 13.74 percent. Marco Rubio received 600 votes or 2.22 percent.

Ohio Republicans had to cast their votes twice for their presidential nominee. In the Republican District Delegates-at-Large category, Kasich received 10,359 votes or 40.4 percent, beating Trump by 388 votes. Trump received 9,971 votes or 38.89 percent.

For the Republican nominee for U.S. senator, Rob Portman received 18,990 votes or 79.71 percent in Miami County. Don Elijah Eckhart received 4,834 votes.

While Warren Davidson won the Republican nomination for the congressional seat vacated by former Speaker of the House John Boehner, Bill Beagle received the majority of the votes in this county. Beagle received 9,605 votes or 37.87 percent for the nomination for the unexpired term. Davidson received 8,730 votes or 34.42 percent.

On the Democratic ballot, Hillary Clinton received 53 percent of vote in this county with 3,192. Bernie Sanders received 45.86 percent with 2,762 votes, and Roque De La Fuente received 1.15 percent with 69 votes.

Democratic U.S. senator candidate Ted Strickland received 3,540 votes or 64.46 percent. P.G. Sittenfeld received 1,029 votes or 18.74 percent. Kelli Prather received 923 votes or 16.81 percent.

For the county’s local Republican primary election for county commissioner, Gregory Simmons received 12,145 votes or 59.41 percent. Simmon’s opponent Richard Cultice received 8,297 votes or 40.59 percent. Jack Evans also won after he received 11,646 votes or 53.3 percent. Evans’ opponent Cynthia Lillicrap received 10,202 votes or 46.7 percent.

For the county prosecutor seat, Tony Kendell received 13,411 votes or 62.05 percent. Mel Kemmer received 8,201 votes or 37.95 percent.

For the sheriff seat, Dave Duchak won with 7,933 votes or 33.76 percent. Paul Reece received 6,965 votes or 29.64 percent. Chris Anderson received 5,741 votes or 24.43 percent. Steve Cooper received 2,860 votes or 12.17 percent.

The board also certified those nominated to the Republican Central Committee. The majority of those races were uncontested and the results are available on the board’s website at

By Sam Wildow

Reach reporter Sam Wildow at (937) 451-3336 or on Twitter @TheDailyCall

Reach reporter Sam Wildow at (937) 451-3336 or on Twitter @TheDailyCall