Powell elected to represent Ohio’s 80th district

By Sam Wildow - swildow@aimmediamidwest.com

MIAMI COUNTY — Voters elected Republican Jena Powell of Arcanum to represent the 80th District in the Ohio House of Representatives, according to unofficial election results.

“I am incredibly honored,” Powell said on Tuesday night, adding that she was “encouraged by the support.” Powell said that her campaign and getting elected was a team effort “by the people and for the people.”

Powell won approximately 75 percent of the vote in Ohio’s 80th District, receiving 31,411 votes compared to the Democratic nominee D.J. Byrnes of Piqua receiving 10,183 votes in the district, according to unofficial election results.

Powell received approximately 24,997 votes in Miami County and approximately 5,875 votes in Darke County while Byrnes received approximately 8,780 votes in Miami County and 1,216 votes in Darke County, according to unofficial election results.

Powell, in her candidate questionnaire she filled out earlier this year, said she would “fight to reduce regulation and cut taxes so small business, families, churches, and nonprofits can thrive.” Powell’s goals also include enacting pro-life and pro-religious liberty legislation.

Once in office, Powell plans to follow through on her promises of fighting for lower taxes and working to help strengthen families and churches.

“I look forward to doing so,” Powell said. “Today is when the work begins.”

Powell won the Republican nomination during the primary election earlier this year in May. She received approximately 45 percent of the Miami County vote and approximately 70 percent of the Darke County vote, facing off against Miami County Commissioner John “Bud” O’Brien, attorney George Lovett, and merchandising manager J.D. Winteregg.

The Democratic parties of Miami and Darke counties appointed Byrnes to run as the Democratic candidate. Byrnes replaced Scott Zimmerman of Troy, who ran as a Democratic write-in candidate for the seat during the primary election in May and received the Democratic nomination to be placed on the ballot for the general election.




By Sam Wildow


Reach Sam Wildow at swildow@aimmediamidwest.com

Reach Sam Wildow at swildow@aimmediamidwest.com