PPP: Elect ‘forward-thinking’ leaders

For the Daily Call

PIQUA — Positively Promoting Piqua (PPP) is a diverse group of Piqua citizens united to help Piqua be the best it can be and focus on positive efforts to improve and grow as an outstanding community in which to live and work. Since its inception in 2010, PPP has achieved myriad accomplishments and, in keeping with its tenets, encourages residents to vote for “forward-thinking leadership” in the Nov. 7 election.

Daniel P. French, chairperson of the PPP steering committee, said “Piqua citizens have an unusual election this November, with no City Commission candidates actually named on the ballot. PPP recognized the vital importance of having excellent leaders for our community when it was founded in 2010.

“We need elected representatives and city officials who are intelligent, well-informed, experienced and forward thinking, who are committed to working for the benefit of Piqua as a whole, who face our problems squarely, who want Piqua to be a strong, clean and safe community in which to work and live and who develop and implement innovative programs to achieve these objectives.”

According to French, “Several individuals have taken steps to be write-in candidates. I believe it is very important for our voters to consider whether each candidate meets the standard above, and will provide proper leadership for the civic life and actual business of our community, with its $104 million budget, 200 employees and 21,000 citizens. Only the best leaders will help us continue to move forward.”

PPP encourages voting residents to attend an upcoming Meet the Candidates Night at the YWCA Piqua on Wednesday, Oct. 25, at 7:30 p.m. to become better acquainted with the candidates seeking election for both the Piqua Board of Education and City Commission, as well as with the levy issues impacting both the Piqua City Schools and Miami County Park District.

The PPP steering committee has scheduled a mini-retreat at the Piqua Public Library this month for the purpose of identifying further initiatives and reviewing its mission. Members of the committee, in addition to French, include Doug Haines, Michael Gutmann, Ryan King, Kazy Hinds, Sharon Semanie, Cindy Pearson, Jim Vetter, Jim Hemmert, Amanda Heath Brown, Jeremie Hittle, Kate Hoffman, and James Brown Sr.

For the Daily Call