Newton FCCLA awards announced

PLEASANT HILL — The Newton Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) held their annual awards program on May 10 at the school. The following accomplishments were recognized: Emily McGlynn, Skyler Wilson, Eden Harbour, Courtney Lucente, Morgan Robbins, Jaden Stine, Luke Vannus, Natalee Carlin, Will Yoder and Sean Gaston earned 80 or more merit point. Emily McGlynn, Skyler Wilson and Will Yoder are the Gold Outstanding Chapter team.

After competing at regionals the following earned gold at the state level: Emily McGlynn and Natalee Carlin, Interpersonal Communication; Eden Harbour and Amanda Arnett, Focus on Children; Jaden Stine and Marissa Deeter, Life Event Planning; Courtney Lucente and Morgan, Chapter in Review Portfolio Junior — second place. Sean Gaston earned a bronze in the state Advocacy event.

Also recognized for competing at Regionals were Courtney Lucente and Morgan Robbins, Zara Zeller and Will Yoder, Skyler Wilson and Luke Vannus.

Special recognition was given to Natalee Carlin and Emily McGlynn for being the most active member and officer in Newton FCCLA. Honorary membership was given to Liza Harbour and Erica Cavender. Lifesaver awards were given to Sherry Robbins and Garry Burnside for their dedication and support of Newton FCCLA. The awards program was concluded by a slide show presentation of the past year’s events and the installation of the 2016-2017 officers: President Eden Harbour, vice president Skyler Wilson, secretary Emily Gross, treasurer Ashley Renner, historian Morgan Robbins and Jaden Stine, reporter Courtney Lucente, district representative Will Yoder, junior high representative Natalee Carlin and vice president of STAR events Luke Vannus.

Newton FCCLA also participated in Miami County Relay for Life raising $350 for the American Cancer Society by hosting a teacher lunch.

A tribute to graduating FCCLA members recognized Emily McGlynn, Jessie Weeks, Zara Zeller and Moustafa Simpara.